Matters of the heart – 6 – Compassion

The heart chakra is about love. Love of self and love of others. The colours that resonate with it best are pink and green. The element is air. Think of earth and all her abundance. Feel the beating of your heart in tune with your breath .. Feel the expansion of your lungs .. You may BREATHE.


It is quite a task I have given myself. Writing about heart matters is not easy.
Oh well, I like challenges.

I have discovered, that it is really all about accepting yourself, with all the strengths and vulnarabilities, and also that the major trick to survive and not to drown in a pool of misery when you are hurt is to keep focussing on your own inner strength.
If you think about it, the only one you can trust to be totally honest is your Self, that part of you that is connected to your soul, to the God you believe in. Of course it also that same part of you that needs exploring, and THAT is a lifelong journey.


It helps me to remember that I am not the only one in distress every now an then.

A big item related to compassion is Love. Do not go out there and cry along with someone else and mistake that for compassion. In my opinion it is best to strengthen your back, find your own inner strength and face whatever needs to be faced, with your own set of values on board and the love that carries you along. I find compassion in a loving face, a caress, a listening ear, a field of flowers like in the picture of my secret garden in this post.

Do not think that I don’t care
If I don’t cry visibly along with you
Do realize my tears do not ease your burden
It is my strength that can carry you along.

With love,
Juliet Joan